Annual CCHO Housing Awards

Every year at our Annual CCHO Party (the 1st Friday in May), we present the CCHO Housing Awards to recognize the contributions of individuals and organizations to the housing and community development movement.  Through their tireless advocacy  and ongoing commitment to community, equity, and justice, these Awardees have fought for the present and future of San Francisco, help making it a place that all can call home.

2019 Awardees:

  • Mashael Majid & Lynsey Gaudioso for their organizing leadership with 6 Wins for Equity Network

  • Teresa Ojeda for her work as the City’s “data superstar”

2018 Awardees:

  • Olson Lee for his dedication to SF’s model of community-based housing

  • United Educators of San Francisco (Lita Blanc, Susan Solomon, Carolyn Samoa, Anabel Ibanez, Ken Tray) for their advocacy on behalf of the housing needs of SF’s educators

  •  CCHO Founders & early Leaders (Calvin Welch, Chuck Turner, Marcia Rosen, and Sue Lee)

2017 Awardees:

  • The activists of the I-Hotel (Gordon Chin, Emil de Guzman, Pam Tau Lee, Huli Milanese, Al Robles & Bill Sorro in memoriam) for their work to save the I-Hotel and the legacy of Manilatown

  • SFILEN (SF Immigrant Legal Education Network) for their work to protect immigrant residents of San Francisco

  • State Housing Allies (ACCE, Housing California, Public Advocates, Tenants Together, and Western Center on Law & Poverty) for their work keeping an eye on Sacramento

2016 Awardees:

  • Dale Carlson Ian Lewis, for their work to save rent-controlled housing from hotel uses

  • Ruby HarrisTracy Parent, and Karoleen Feng, for their work to protect at-risk tenants and preserve their homes as permanently affordable housing

  • PODER CUHJ (PODER, FCC, CAA, Coleman Advocates), for their work to keep public lands in public hands